List Of prime Ministers Of India From 1947 To 2024, Complete List

List Of prime Ministers Of India – Narendra Modi is the present & 14th PM of India. He would become the 4th Indian PM to serve 2 following terms on the post & would be the 1st non-Congress MP of India who would complete 2 successive terms. Law-making authority is entrust to in the Prime Minister & their selected Council of Ministers, though the President of India is the Constitutional, nominal & ceremonial head of the State.

In this post, we’ve outlined the list of all Prime Ministers of India together with their term commencing from 1947 to 2024.

List Of prime Ministers Of India

In India, the law-making department of the government is headed by the PM. Together with serving as the president of India’s Council of Ministers, the prime minister as well work for as his top advisor. The Prime Minister (PM) ought to a member of the political party or coalition that holds a majority in the Lok Sabha, one of India’s 2 houses of parliament.

List Of prime Ministers Of India

List Of prime Ministers Of India Overview

Article For List Of prime Ministers Of India
Current Prime Minister Of India Shri Narendra Modi
Category Trending

Read Also – Bageshwar Dham Token Booking Online

Important Facts for Prime Ministers of India

  • Nehru was the 1st PM of India. He was a key figure in the Indian independence movement & is considered the architect of modern India. He has the longest tenancy as a prime minister with 16 years & 286 days in the office.
  • Indira Gandhi was the 1st woman Prime Minister of India.
  • Charan Singh was a peasant leader who is popular for his pro-poor policies. He was the 1st Prime Minister to be elected from a rural constituency.
  • Morarji Desai was the 1st non-Congress Prime Minister of India. He was a loyal Hindu nationalist who is popular for his financial improve.

List of all the Prime Ministers of India from 1947-2024

The prime minister of India is selecting by the president; but, in order to remain in office, the PM must have the assist of the majority of the Lok Sabha members, who are selected directly every 5 years. The appointment & removal of Union Council of Ministers members, including the give of positions within the government, are completely under the prime minister’s authority.

Read Also – Pashu Paricharak Salary

Here is the catalogue of Prime Minister of India from 1947-2024.

PM Name
Term of office
Jawahar Lal Nehru
15 August 1947 to 27 May 1964
16 years, 286 days
The 1st pm of India & the longest-serving PM of India, the 1st to die in office.
Gulzarilal Nanda (Acting)
27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964,
13 days
1st acting PM of India
Lal Bahadur Shastri
9 June 1964 to 11 January 1966
1 year, 216 days
He has provided the slogan of ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan’ during the Indo-Pak war of 1965
Gulzari Lal Nanda  (Acting)
11 January 1966 to 24 January 1966
13 days
Indira Gandhi
24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977
11 years, 59 days
1st female PM of India
Morarji Desai
24 March 1977 to  28 July 1979
2 year, 126 days
Oldest to become PM (81 years old) and 1st to resign from office
Charan Singh
28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980
170 days
Only PM who didn’t face the Parliament
Indira Gandhi
14 January 1980 to 31 October 1984
4 years, 291 days
The 1st lady who worked for as PM for the 2nd term
Rajiv Gandhi
31 October 1984 to 2 December 1989
5 years, 32 days
Youngest to become PM (40 years old)
V. P. Singh
2 December 1989 to 10 November 1990
343 days
1st PM to step down after a vote of no confidence
Chandra Shekhar
10 November 1990 to 21 June 1991
223 days
He belongs to  Samajwadi Janata Party
P. V. Narasimha Rao
21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996
4 years, 330 days
1st PM from South India
Atal Bihari Vajpayee
(1924- 2018)
16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996
16 days
PM for shortest tenure
H. D. Deve Gowda
(born 1933)
1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997
324 days
He belongs to  Janata Dal
Inder Kumar Gujral
21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998
332 days
Atal Bihari Vajpayee
19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004
6 years, 64 days
 The 1st non-congress PM who completed a full term as PM
Manmohan Singh
(born 1932)
22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014
10 years, 4 days
 1st Sikh PM
Narendra Modi
(born 1950)
26 May 2014 – 2019
4th Prime Minister of India who served two consecutive tenures
Narendra Modi
(born 1950)
30 May 2019- Incumbent
1st non-congress PM with 2 successive tenures


How Prime Minister of India Elected?

  • The candidate for PM of India should be a people of India.
  • To be a Prime Minister the candidate should either be a member of the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha.
  • The age must be 25 if he/she is a member of the Lok Sabha & 30 if he/she is the member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • The Indian President holds the power to choose a person as the Prime Minister of India.
  • The PM candidate should a member of a political party that holds the majority of votes in the Lok Sabha.
  • The Indian Prime Minister candidate must not hold any office of profit under the government of India or any state government.
  • The candidate of the PM shouldn’t hold any criminal charges.

Final Thought

India’s PM have come from a variety of backgrounds & political parties, but they’ve all provided a deep commitment to public service & a want to create India a better place. Here in this post, we’ve provided a list of PM of India. So that you can know who they’re & what are their gaining as the PM of India since 1947.

Read Also –

बजरंग बाण का पाठ Download

Important Days and Dates

Body Parts Name

Sex Ratio in India

Freedom Fighters Of India

Adjectives Definition

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is the youngest PM of India?

Rajiv Gandhi is the youngest PM of India.

Who was the first Prime Minister of India?

Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India.

Who was the first female Prime Minister of India?

Indira Gandhi was the first and only female Prime Minister of India.

Who is the current Prime Minister of India?

Narendra Modi is the current Prime Minister of India.

Who is the 8th PM of India?

Indira Gandhi was the first prime minister of India.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook Get Latest Updates on Whatsapp or follow us on Twitter, Pin us and kooapp. Telegram. Read more on Latest Trending News, Entertainment News, Sports News, Govt. Schemes, on Follow Cemca news.

Leave a Comment