ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List (1975 to 2023) Updated

ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List – Here we provide the list of Cricket World Cup winners for ODI and T20. The ICC ODI Cricket World Cup was contesting for the 1st time in England in 1975. It was played as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. It was held outside England, in India & Pakistan, for the 1st time in 1987. The 1987 contest as well saw the number of overs per side decreased to 50. ICC men’s ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 is going to commence on 5th October 2023 & the final match will be played on 19th November 2023. So all cricket lovers want to know the all World Cup winners information from its inception to this year. So in the post, we’ve covered All ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List

There’re 12 World Cup tournaments being held to date. Australia is the most successful nation which won 5 World Cups. In 2007 Australia became the 1st team to win 3 consecutive World Cup tournaments. India & West Indies are the only 2 nations that have won the World Cup 2 times each. India won the World Cup in 1983 & 2011, while West Indies won in 1975 & 1979. The list of World Cup winners for One Day Cricket is sharing beneath.

The Cricket World Cup fever is almost upon us. Commencing this week, from October 5, India’s favourite sport’s biggest tournament come back to our homeland after 12 years. India ranked as the number 1  ODI team in the world, will be favourites to lift the title for a 3rd time — after its newly Asia Cup triumph. With scintillating fixtures like the all-important India vs Pakistan match on 14 October, here is looking back at the history of the Cricket World Cup — including its most successful teams, those that have missed milestones by a whisker & everything else in between.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List

ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List Overview

Name of Event ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List
Category Sports
Organizer International Cricket Council

Related – T20 World Cup

Cricket World Cup Winners From 1975 to 2023 [ODI]

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List
Year Host Winner Runner-up Result
1975 England West Indies Australia West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 England West Indies England West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 England India West Indies India won by 43 runs
1987 India and Pakistan Australia England Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan England Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Pakistan and India Sri Lanka Australia Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 England Australia Pakistan Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 South Africa Australia India Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia Sri Lanka Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India and Bangladesh India Sri Lanka India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia New Zealand Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England and Wales England New Zealand The match tied after regular play and a super over; England won on a boundary count
2023 India


ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List: Number of World Cup for Nations

The latest ICC ODI Men’s World Cup was held in England & Wales in 2019 & it observing the 1st time that England had won the tournament. Below is a breakdown of the nations that have won the ODI Cricket World Cup.

Beneath is the list of the Number of World Cups Won by the nations:

Team Number of ODI World Cup Won Years of ODI World Cup Won
Australia 5 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
England 1 2019
India 2 1983, 2011
New Zealand 0
Pakistan 1 1992
Sri Lanka 1 1996
West Indies 2 1975, 1979

Read Also – Asia Cup

Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners List

Check out the information about the Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1973 to 2023.

Year Winners Runner-up
2022 Australia England
2017 England India
2013 Australia West Indies
2009 England New Zealand
2005 Australia India
2000 New Zealand Australia
1997 Australia New Zealand
1993 England New Zealand
1988 Australia England
1982 Australia England
1978 Australia England
1973 England Australia


Women’s Cricket T20 World Cup Winners List

The oldest world sports championship is the Women’s Cricket World Cup. It achieved 1st held in 1973 in England, 2 years before the men’s world cup started. The Women’s Cricket World gets qualified through the ICC Women’s Championship & the World Cup Qualifier.

Women’s T20 World Cup Winners
Year Winner Runner Up Host
2009 England New Zealand England
2010 Australia New Zealand West Indies
2012 Australia England Sri Lanka
2014 Australia England Bangladesh
2016 West Indies Australia India
2018 Australia England West Indies
2020 Australia India Australia
2022 Australia England South Africa

Read Also – Pro Kabaddi

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners – Captains List

The captain of any cricket team plays a necessary role in winning an ICC trophy. Below is the world cup winners list listing the captains of the respective years from 1975 to 2023.

Year World Cup Winner List – Captains Winner
1975 Clive Lloyd West Indies
1979 Clive Lloyd West Indies
1983 Kapil Dev India
1987 Allan Border Australia
1992 Imran Khan Pakistan
1996 Arjuna Ranatunga Sri Lanka
1999 Steve Waugh Australia
2003 Ricky Ponting Australia
2007 Ricky Ponting Australia
2011 MS Dhoni India
2015 Michael Clarke Australia
2019 Eoin Morgan England
2023 Rohit Sharma India


ICC World Cup Winners List – Facts & Figures

  • 12 teams participated in ICC Men’s tournaments, like India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Ireland, Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, West Indies & Sri Lanka.
  • Australia won the highest number of World Cup Titles for both Men & Women’s tournaments.
  • India &  Australia succeeded in the World cup in 50 & 60 overs.
  • India is the only nation that won the Men’s World Cup for 20 overs, 50 overs & 60 overs.

Also Check –

KKR Team

IPL Live Score

Asian Games 

IPL Points Table

Women’s Premier League

Frequently Asked Questions

How many times India won ICC World Cup?

India's first World Cup victory came in 1983 when they defeated the West Indies in the final held at Lord's Cricket Ground in London, England. Their second World Cup win was in 2011, when they won the tournament on home soil, defeating Sri Lanka in the final at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, India.

How many times Pakistan won World Cup?

The 1992 World Cup final saw England and Pakistan face off in front of around 90,000 spectators. On this day, Imran Khan (current Prime Minister of Pakistan) led the team and lifted the crystal ball trophy. Pakistanis know the significance of the day when Pakistan became world champions of cricket for the first time.

How many World Cups have India have?

World Cup pedigree: India are the second-best World Cup team after Australia. Apart from winning it in 1983 and 2011, they have been losing finalists in 2003 and losing semi-finalists in 1987, 1996, 2015 and 2019.

Who won most World Cup in cricket history?

Australia holds the record for being the most successful team in the ICC ODI World Cup, having won the tournament 5 times and been the runner-up twice.

How many times India won ODI?

Team India have won the ODI World Cup title only twice - once in 1983, under Kapil Dev's captaincy in England and then under MS Dhoni's stewardship in 2011 - the last time India co-hosted the tournament.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook Get Latest Updates on Whatsapp or follow us on Twitter, Pin us and kooapp. Telegram. Read more on Latest Trending News, Entertainment News, Sports News, Govt. Schemes, on Follow Cemca news.

Leave a Comment