States of Capitals of India, List 28 States and 8 Union Territories

States of Capitals of India – India is the seventh biggest nation in the globe & as well the second most populous. India is a diverse & culturally rich Nation which includes 28 states & eight Union territories, every with its own unique recognition, history & administrative centre india lies in the southern Asia. It receives very hard to control a big nation from one place. So Indian Constitution provides the right to the central government to create states feel acceptable. This writing aims to give an overview of the Indian States & their Capitals, showcasing their significance & giving to the country.

In India, there’re a total of 28 States & eight Union Territories. Every state in India is unique & has a very rich & diverse culture, language, resources, flora & fauna, democracy festivals, etc. Every state gives to the growth and development of the finance of the nation in various method.

States of Capitals of India

Many people do not know about the total number of States / Union Territories in India & their capitals. In this post, we’re offering you the newly update on the States & Capitals of India. There’re a total of 28 states & eight union territories in India at current. Every state of India has an administrative, legislative & judicial capital some states all 3 functions are conducting in one capital. Each state is control by a CM. Here we’ve covered the list of the Indian States, Union Territories & their capitals.

States of Capitals of India

States of Capitals of India Details

Article ForStates of Capitals of India
No. of States28
Union Territories8

Related – Highest Mountain Peaks in India

List of States & Capitals of India

India has a complete of 28 states & eight union territories. Here’s the full list of 28 States & Capitals of India:

1.Andhra PradeshAmaravati
2.Arunachal PradeshItanagar
9.Himachal PradeshShimla
13.Madhya PradeshBhopal
23.Tamil NaduChennai
27.Uttar PradeshLucknow
28.West BengalKolkata


List of Union Territories of India

Here is the full list of eight Union Territories :

Sl. No.Union TerritoriesCapital
2.Jammu and Kashmir
  • Srinagar- Summer Capital
  • Jammu- Winter Capital
5.Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
6.Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman
8.The Government of NCT of DelhiDelhi

Read Also – What To Do After 12th Class

Indian States with their Specialities

Every Indian State has a unique historical & cultural background. For sample, New Delhi, India’s capital, has a blend of modernity & history, Iconic landmarks like India Gate & the Istana speak for the nation’s past strain including its following desire. Mumbai, the state capital of Maharashtra, is the nation’s monetary & entertainment center, also the home of Bollywood & India’s biggest stock exchange.

Indian StatesSpecialization
Andhra PradeshAndhra Pradesh is famous for its spicy cuisine, historical sites such as Charminar & Golconda Fort in Hyderabad & rich culture in art, music, and dance.
Arunachal PradeshArunachal Pradesh is famous for its breathtaking landscapes, diverse tribal cultures & the Tawang Monastery, 1 of the biggest monasteries in India.
AssamAssam is popular for its tea plantations, Kaziranga National Park (home to the one-horned rhinoceros), Bihu dance & traditional silk weaving.
BiharBihar is famous for its historical importance, as well as the of long ago city of Patliputra, Buddhist pilgrimage sites such as Bodh Gaya & Madhubani art.
ChhattisgarhChhattisgarh is accepted for its tribal heritage, rich mineral resources & the Chitrakote Waterfall, frequently whooped the “Niagara of India.”
DelhiDelhi is popular for iconic landmarks like India Gate & the Istana represent the nation’s past difficulties including its future expectations.
GoaGoa is known for its beautiful beaches, vibrant nightlife, unique blend of Indian & Portuguese cultures & seafood cuisine.
GujaratGujarat is popular for its industrial & business prowess, the Rann of Kutch desert, vibrant festivals such as Navaratri & Diwali & the Sabarmati Ashram related to Mahatma Gandhi.
HaryanaHaryana is popular for its agricultural creativity, being a hub for industries & Chandigarh, a well-planned city popular for its architecture & urban design.
Himachal PradeshMark for its attractive hill stations, adventure tourism, serene landscapes & the Dalai Lama’s residence in Dharamshala.
JharkhandJharkhand is rich in mineral resources, popular for its tribal culture & home to the Betla National Park.
KarnatakaKarnataka is famous as the “Silicon Valley of India,” popular for its IT industry, historical sites such as Hampi & traditional dance forms like Bharatanatyam.
KeralaKerala is famous for its backwaters, Ayurveda practices, lush greenery, and the highest literacy rate in India.
MaharashtraMaharashtra is as well famous as monetary & entertainment capital, Bollywood movie industry, historical landmarks such Gateway of India & culinary delights like Vada Pav.
ManipurObserve for its traditional dance forms such as Manipuri dance, Loktak Lake & vibrant festivals.

Read More – How To Vote in India

States & Capitals of India: Latest Updates

Before we receive into the Union Territories & their capitals. Let’s 1st have take a glance at the recent updates on UTs. Since 26th January 2020, India had 8 union territories. The U.T Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli have become a single union territory.

On August 5, the central government had as well declared the revocation of the particular status provided to Jammu & Kashmir under Article 370 & its dividing into 2 Union Territories i.e. UTs of Jammu & Kashmir & Ladakh. With the union of Daman & Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the number of UT’s have come down to 8.

Read Also –

Pan Aadhar Link Online

USA Visa Appointment

Alpex Solar IPO Date

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election Result

Holika Dahan Shubh Muhurat

Frequently Asked Questions

How many States and Union Territories are there in India?

India has a total of 28 states and 8 Union Territories.

Which Union Territories were merged in January 2020?

The Union territories that were merged were Dadar and Nagar Haveli.

What is the capital of India?

The capital of India is New Delhi.

Which state has been bifurcated to make Union Territory?

The state which was bifurcated was Jammu and Kashmir into Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh Union Territories.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook Get Latest Updates on Whatsapp or follow us on Twitter, Pin us and kooapp. Telegram. Read more on Latest Trending News, Entertainment News, Sports News, Govt. Schemes, on Follow Cemca news.

Leave a Comment